NERVOUS SYSTEM

The nervous system is divided into two main parts:

- Central nervous system, which consists of the brain and spinal cord
- Peripheral nervous system, which consists of 12 pairs of cranial nerves and 31 pairs of spinal nerves.

Functionally, the nervous system can be further divided into:

- Somatic nervous system, which controls voluntary activities,
- Autonomic nervous system, which controls involuntary activities.

BLOOD VESSELS

Blood vessels are of three types: ¹arteries, ²veins, and ³capillaries:

- 1. **Arteries** transport blood from the heart and distribute it to the various tissues of the body. The smallest arteries are referred to as arterioles.
- 2. **Veins** are vessels that transport blood back to the heart; many of them possess valves. The smallest veins are called venules.
- 3. **Capillaries** are microscopic vessels in the form of a network connecting the arterioles to the venules.

NERVE & BLOOD SUPPLY OF THE LOWER LIMBS

Nerve supply, Anteriorly:

- 1. Lateral femoral cutaneous nerve.
- 2. Femoral nerve.
- 3. Obturator nerve.
- 4. Saphenous nerve.

Posteriorly:

- 1. Sciatic nerve.
- 2. Posterior femoral cutaneous nerve.
- 3. Tibial nerve.
- 4. Common fibular nerve.
- 5. Medial and lateral plantar nerves.

Blood supply, Arterial:

- 1. Femoral artery.
- 2. Popliteal artery.
- 3. Tibial artery (Anterior & posterior).
- 4. Fibular artery.
- 5. Dorsalis pedis artery.
- 6. Medial and lateral plantar arteries.

Venous:

- 1. Femoral vein.
- 2. Great saphenous vein.
- 3. Small saphenous vein.
- 4. Dorsal venous arch.







